Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Subscribe in a reader
NAACP Image Awards: Barack Obama, 'Last Dance' Among Winners at the Non-Televised Ceremonies Night One

Drew Angerer/Getty Images; ESPN2/Courtesy Everett Collection

Prizes are being handed out in streaming presentations across five nights.

The 2021 NAACP Image Awards is announcing this year's winners across more than 60 categories in streaming presentations across five nights ahead of the awards' live show on BET and CBS on Saturday night.

On Monday, the NAACP presented awards in a number of literary and documentary categories as well as two special awards for activist and youth activist of the year.

Among the winners were John Lewis: Good Trouble for best documentary (film) and The Last Dance for best documentary (TV — series or special).

In addition, Keith McQuirter won best directing for a documentary (TV or motion picture) for By Whatever Means Necessary: The Times of Godfather of Harlem, while Melissa Haizlip won best writing in a documentary (TV or motion picture) for Mr. SOUL!

Elsewhere, Barack Obama was among the winners in the literary categories. The former president's memoir A Promised Land was named best nonfiction literary work during Monday night's show. (Obama previously was named the recipient of the NAACP's Chairman's Award in 2005).

The virtual, non-televised presentations will continue through Friday before the live show airs on BET and across ViacomCBS' networks including CBS, VH1 and MTV on Saturday, March 27 at 8 p.m.

Presenters for the virtual ceremonies include the cast of BET's Bigger (Tanisha Long, Angell Conwell, Rasheda Crockett, Tristen J. Winger, and Chase Anthony,) CeCe Winans, Damson Idris, Daymond John, Javicia Leslie, JB Smoove, Leslie Jones, Madalen Mills, MAJOR., Marcus Scribner, Method Man, Nicole Beharie, Retta, Reno Wilson, Susan Kelechi Watson, Tamar Braxton and Terrence Terrell.

The NAACP Image Awards recognizes the achievements of people of color in TV, music, literature and film and those who promote social justice through creative endeavors.

A complete list of the awards handed out each night follows, with additional categories added every night. Refresh for the latest.

NIGHT ONE: Monday, March 22, 2021

Outstanding Literary Work - Fiction

Black Bottom Saints - Alice Randall (HarperCollins Publishers)

Lakewood - Megan Giddings (HarperCollins Publishers)

Riot Baby - Tochi Onyebuchi (TorDotCom Publishing, imprint of Tom Doherty Associates)

The Awkward Black Man - Walter Mosley (Grove Atlantic) (WINNER)

The Vanishing Half - Brit Bennett (Riverhead Books)

Outstanding Literary Work - Nonfiction

A Black Women’s History of the United States - Dr. Daina Ramey Berry and Dr. Kali Nicole Gross (Beacon Press)

A Promised Land - Barack Obama (Crown) (WINNER)

Driving While Black - Gretchen Sorin (W. W. Norton & Company)

Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America - Michael Eric Dyson (St. Martin's Press)

We're Better Than This - Elijah Cummings (HarperCollins Publishers)

Outstanding Literary Work - Debut Author

A Knock at Midnight - Brittany Barnett (Penguin Random House)

Greyboy: Finding Blackness in a White World - Cole Brown (Skyhorse)

Lakewood - Megan Giddings (HarperCollins Publishers)

The Compton Cowboys - Walter Thompson-Hernandez (HarperCollins Publishers)

We're Better Than This - Elijah Cummings (HarperCollins Publishers) (WINNER)

Outstanding Literary Work - Biography/Autobiography

A Most Beautiful Thing: The True Story of America's First All-Black High School Rowing Team - Arshay Cooper (Macmillan)

A Promised Land - Barack Obama (Crown)

Olympic Pride, American Prejudice - Deborah Draper (Simon & Schuster)

The Dead Are Arising - Les Payne, Tamara Payne (W. W. Norton & Company) (WINNER)

Willie: The Game-Changing Story of the NHL's First Black Player - Willie O'Ree (Penguin Canada)

Outstanding Literary Work - Instructional

Do Right by Me: Learning to Raise Black Children in White Space - Valerie Harrison (Temple University Press)

Living Lively - Haile Thomas (HarperCollins Publishers)

The Black Foster Youth Handbook - Ángela Quijada-Banks (Soulful Liberation)

The Woman God Created You to Be: Finding Success Through Faith--Spiritually, Personally, and Professionally - Kimberla Lawson Roby (Lenox Press)

Vegetable Kingdom - Bryant Terry (Penguin Random House) (WINNER)

Outstanding Literary Work - Poetry

Homie - Danez Smith (Graywolf Press)

Kontemporary Amerikan Poetry - John Murillo (Four Way Books)

Seeing the Body - Rachel Eliza Griffiths (W. W. Norton & Company)

The Age of Phillis - Honorée Jeffers (Wesleyan University Press) (WINNER)

Un-American - Hafizah Geter (Wesleyan University Press)

Outstanding Literary Work - Children

I Promise - LeBron James, Nina Mata (HarperCollins)

Just Like a Mama - Alice Faye Duncan, Charnelle Pinkney Barlow (Simon & Schuster)

Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice - Nikki Grimes, Laura Freeman (Simon & Schuster)

She Was the First!: The Trailblazing Life of Shirley Chisholm - Katheryn Russell-Brown, Eric Velasquez (Lee & Low Books) (WINNER)

The Secret Garden of George Washington Carver - Gene Barretta, Frank Morrison (HarperCollins)

Outstanding Literary Work - Youth/Teens

Before the Ever After - Jacqueline Woodson (Penguin Random House) (WINNER)

Black Brother, Black Brother - Jewell Parker Rhodes (Hachette Book Group)

Dear Justyce - Nic Stone (Crown Books for Young Readers)

Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning Stamped from the Beginning - Jason Reynolds (Hachette Book Group )

This is Your Time - Ruby Bridges (Delacorte Books for Young Readers)

Outstanding Directing in a Documentary (Television or Motion Picture)

Keith McQuirter - By Whatever Means Necessary: The Times of Godfather of Harlem (EPIX) (WINNER)

Muta'Ali - Yusuf Hawkins: Storm Over Brooklyn (HBO)

Sam Pollard, Maro Chermayeff - Atlanta's Missing and Murdered: The Lost Children (Ep. 1 & 2) (HBO)

Simcha Jacobovici - Enslaved: The Lost History of the Transatlantic Slave Trade (EPIX)

Yoruba Richen - The Sit-In: Harry Belafonte Hosts the Tonight Show (Peacock)

Outstanding Writing in a Documentary (Television or Motion Picture)

Mary Mazzio - A Most Beautiful Thing (Peacock)

Melissa Haizlip - Mr. Soul! (Maysles Documentary Center) (WINNER)

Nile Cone - The Beat Don't Stop (TV One)

Royal Kennedy Rodgers - Hollywood's Architect: The Paul R. Williams Story (PBS)

Yoruba Richen, Elia Gasull Balada, Valerie Thomas - The Sit-In: Harry Belafonte Hosts the Tonight Show (Peacock)

Outstanding Documentary (Television)

And She Could Be Next (PBS)

Black Love (OWN: Oprah Winfrey Network)

Enslaved: The Lost History of the Transatlantic Slave Trade (EPIX)

The Last Dance (ESPN / Netflix) (WINNER)

Unsung (TV One)

Outstanding Documentary (Film)

All In: The Fight For Democracy (Amazon Studios)

Coded Bias (7th Empire Media)

John Lewis: Good Trouble (Magnolia Pictures/Participant) (WINNER)

Mr. Soul! (Shoes in the Bed Productions)

On the Record (HBO Max)


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post