Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Subscribe in a reader
Three scientists win nobel for chemistry 'lego'

The nobel prize in chemistry has gone to 3 scientists for their paintings on linking molecules together, referred to as click on chemistry. Carolyn bertozzi, morton meldal, and barry sharpless will share prize money of 10 million swedish krona (£800,000). Their work is used to discover cells and music biological methods, and may be implemented in cancer treatment drugs.

"click" chemistry is about linking together molecules like the ones in residing cells. The nobel committee praised their work for making chemistry functional and stated they had an tremendous impact on technology.

"this yr's prize offers with no longer overcomplicating topics, rather operating with what is simple and easy," says johan Åqvist, chair of the nobel committee for chemistry. Carolyn bertozzi, who pioneered the paintings on bioorthogonal chemistry, is the eighth female to win the chemistry nobel.

"i am honestly stunned. I will hardly ever breathe," professor bertozzi said from the united states when the nobel committee known as her inside the middle of the night. One of the critical programs of her work is in remedy and drug delivery, she stated. 

It manner scientists can do "chemistry in the human frame, to make certain drugs visit the right region and live far from the wrong vicinity."

it's also a "biological discovery device" that permits scientists to look new molecules that we failed to realize existed, she defined. 

Barry sharpless, from the united states, has now gained the nobel prize twice. The first time changed into in 2001 for chiral catalysts. Professor sharpless and professor morten meldal, from denmark, worked independently but together laid the rules of "click on" chemistry.

independently but together laid the foundations of "click" chemistry.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.View original tweet on Twitter

Last year's award also went to two scientists who developed tools for building molecules.

On Monday, the committee gave the Physiology or Medicine prize to Svante Paabo for work on human evolution.

Tuesday's Nobel Prize in Physics rewarded research into quantum mechanics - the science that describes nature at the smallest scales.

Presentational grey line

Previous winners of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Molecules - limoneneIMAGE SOURCE,NOBEL PRIZE

2021 - Benjamin List and David MacMillan won the prize for their work on building molecules that are mirror images of one another.

2020 - Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna received the award for developing the tools to edit DNA.

2019 - John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino share the prize for their work on lithium-ion batteries.

2018 - Discoveries about enzymes earned Frances Arnold, George P Smith and Gregory Winter the prize

2017 - Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson were awarded the prize for improving images of biological molecules

2016 - Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Bernard Feringa shared the prize for the making machines on a molecular scale.

2015 - Discoveries in DNA repair earned Tomas Lindahl and Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar the award.


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post